Eligibility and Study Sites

Participation Criteria

You may be able to participate in this study if you:

  • Have mild to moderate MS

  • Are between 18 and 65 years old

  • Can travel to the study site for the required training sessions and assessments

  • Have the required technology (computer or DVD player and TV, and phone)

  • Score between 4.0 and 6.5 on an assessment called “the Expanded Disability Status Scale”

  • Are medically stable or can obtain medical approval to participate in exercise studies

  • Can walk 25 feet in 6 seconds to 3 minutes

  • Can read, write, and speak English

 

You may not be enrolled in this study if you:

  • Have had an MS relapse in the past 30 days

  • Have had a fall in the past three months that the study investigator determines makes participation unsafe

  • Already exercise at recommended levels

  • Have other neurological (e.g., stroke) or musculoskeletal conditions or other co-morbidities

  • Have severe cognitive difficulties and cannot follow simple directions

  • Have any other concern that the investigators think would jeopardize your safety.

Please call the research coordinator at the site nearest to you to determine whether you are eligible to participate.

 

Contact Information

For general inquiries about the study, please contact:

Louise Palmer, Research Project Manager, Multiple Sclerosis Research, Shepherd Center, Atlanta: louise.palmer@shepherd.org or 404-350-7513

 

If you are a person with MS who is interested in participating in the study, please contact the nearest study site from the list below:

 

Shepherd Center, Atlanta, GA

Erica Sutton

404-367-1305

Erica.sutton@shepherd.org

 

Cleveland Clinic, Mellen Center, Cleveland, OH

Darlene Stough

216-445-5877

stoughd@ccf.org

Dee Ivancic

216-444-5441

ivancid@ccf.org

 

University of Colorado, Denver

Vareldzis, Alexa

alexa.vareldzis@ucdenver.edu

Haakonsen, Nicola 

303.724.6351

nicola.haakonsen@ucdenver.edu

 

University of Alabama, Birmingham

Petra Silic

205-975-1336

petra09@uab.edu

 

University of Georgia, Athens

Megan Ware

423-260-5045

megan.ware20@uga.edu

 

Marquette University, Milwaukee, WI

Heidi Feuling

414-288-6209

414-801-2819

heidi.feuling@marquette.edu 

 

University of North Carolina, Chapel Hill

Rachel Keen

704-877-5636

rayray@live.unc.edu